Battle of the leave in conditioners

This year I decided to try finding the perfect leave in conditioner. My venture to trying more store bought products because I’m getting less time to DIY. Previously I used the Texture my way leave in detangling creme but as I approach 2 years since my big chop; my hair craves thicker products rather than liquidey ones.

Leave in conditioners

20160509_162459.jpg

From left to right: Texture my way ultra defining curl pudding, Shea Moisture coconut and hibiscus curl and style milk, Wholesome You ochroe detangling cream, Mixtress J Irish moss leave in conditioner, Soultanicals Knot Sauce.

Reviews

Let’s start with the not so good first….

20160509_163038

Wholesome You is a local skin and hair company in Trinidad and Tobago that’s all vegan. I loved some of their products but this one….its a no for me. It had no slip. I was expecting for there to be marshmallow root or slippery elm to help with slip bit it didn’t. I also tried to use it as a leave in and the moisture didn’t last long in my hair.

Rating: 1/5

20160509_163003

I no longer liked Texture my way leave in because it was too runny. But I love the curl defining pudding and decided to try it as a leave in. Love the smell and the texture of this pudding. Its definitely moisturising….more moisturising than their leave in. This is definitely a cheaper alternatives to the other leave ins I will always have as a back up.

Rating: 4.5/5

20160509_162927

Another local product but omg this one doesn’t disappoint. Sooooo much slip! The smell though is what blew me away…was very tempted to lick it lol. Very moisturising and it was easy to use a wide tooth comb through my hair after applying. Overall,next time I buy this I’m getting the larger size.

Rating: 5/5

20160509_162813

This is was my first time trying a Shea Moisture product and it didn’t disappoint. What lead me to trying this was an article of the best leave in conditioners for low porosity hair. They didn’t lie; its thick yet light with a great smell. I place the bottle in a container with hot water, heat helps to open the cuticles and allow for it to really penetrate hair strands.

Rating: 5/5

20160509_162728

Last leave in I’m not 100% sure about yet. It definitely helps detangle and is moisturising but I need to use it a couple more times to see if it will become a repurchase or not. But so far I like it and it smells great.

Rating: 4/5

I hope this post helps anyone still looking for the right leave in. It took my a couple of trys but I’ve found a few I love. Next post will be about deep conditioners.

 

 

Leave a Reply

