Are hair vitamins worth it?

I noticed lately that a lot of naturals are obsessed with growing long hair and because of this there seems to be a rise in the discussion of taking hair vitamins.

One of the most popular vitamins is Biotin which comes in 1,000, 5,000 and 10,000 mcg. But is it effective?

pGNC1-9055734dt

I too decided to test out this whole Biotin craze and bought a bottle of 1,000 mcg pills (I did this last year). And the result? I was disappointed. The Biotin basically grew my nails long but I didn’t see any difference in my hair and to top it off, I had to drink tons of water to stop breakouts from happening.

I however didn’t take the whole bottle because my doctor advised me to stop due to the fact that I have PCOS (polycystic ovarian syndrome) and a side effect of it is that hair can sometimes grow in places it shouldn’t. Thankfully, it didn’t happen to me.

My advice to women before buying any hair vitamins- please check with your doctor first.

Since off the Biotin, I stick to my regular GNC Women’s Ultra Mega Woman Active multivitamin for general health which contains biotin and MSM in it which helps with hair and nail growth! Definitely won’t be buying it again.

One thought on “Are hair vitamins worth it?

Leave a Reply

